About EYP Norway

National Committee

The National Committee (NC) is the upper administrative body of EYP Norway. It holds formal responsibility to the Norwegian Ministry of Education for the selection of Norwegian delegates to International Sessions. It is also the point of contact for the administrative bodies of International EYP, mainly the Governing Body (GB) and the Board of National Committees (BNC). Their main focus is to ensure high academic standards at our events, as well as ensuring financial stability. In short, the NC is responsible for making sure EYP Norway upholds a certain standard.

The NC consists of 7 members. There are 3 teachers and 3 student alumni. The Norwegian Agency for International Cooperation and Quality Enhancement in Higher Education (Diku) holds a seat on behalf of the Ministry of Education.

The NC works in close cooperation with the Alumni Association (EYPNAA) on the day-to-day administration of EYP Norway and in organising the National Sessions.

International Network

As a network of independent organisations, the EYP is present in 40 European countries and organises more than 500 events every year, involving a total of around 30,000 participants. Thousands of young people are actively involved as volunteers all over Europe, making the EYP a genuinely youth-driven programme –  run by young people, for young people.

Facts & Figures

Since 1987, the number of EYP alumni has grown to over 200,000

Over 500 EYP events are organised every year across Europe (at local, national and international levels)

More than 30,000 young people, including 3,500 volunteers, take part in EYP events every year

The EYP network is active in 40 countries across Europe


The European Youth Parliament was founded in 1987 as a school project at the Lycée François-Premier in Fontainebleau, just south of Paris. The first “International Session” of the EYP was also held there, in 1988.

Ever since, the EYP project has steadily developed to include more countries and schools. In 1991, international coordination of the project moved to Witney, Oxfordshire, where it was run by Bettina Carr-Allinson (NL). The organisation experienced enduring growth for the next decade, evolving from a project associated predominantly with schools to a youth-led network, with National Committees and activities becoming larger and more numerous.

In 2004, the National Committees of the EYP mandated the Schwarzkopf Foundation to act as the international umbrella organisation of the EYP. The coordination of the network moved to Berlin and Philipp Scharff (DE) became the first full-time Executive Director of the EYP. He was succeeded by Jan-Philipp Beck (DE) in 2008, by Ville Vasaramäki (FI) in 2011 and Krista Simberg (FI) in 2013. Since 2017, Lukas Fendel (DE) has been the Executive Director of the EYP.

Since 2004, the EYP has continued to grow, involving young people from virtually all European countries in its activities. The European Youth Parliament is one of the largest organisations for non-formal political education in Europe.